Facebook Seeking Seven Figures for Video Ads

Image

by @DavidAPortney

This summer, Facebook will be rolling out video ads as part of their widespread attempt to increase revenue streams since going public.  However, this won’t be cheap, charging an upwards of seven figures for these short advertisements.

Is it worth it?  Probably not.  My view on these paid social media ads is if you have a boat load of money lying around collecting dust, then go for it.  If you’re one of the 99.9% who isn’t as fortunate to work with a generous budget, then I’d spend more time on producing quality content than just spilling cash into a post.

My two cents is that if it’s a great post, the public will share it regardless.  You shouldn’t be looking for people to simply like, share or comment on a post because they saw it.  Instead they should interact with you because they actually like your content.

Avoid the “hollow follower” who really doesn’t care about what you have to say, but because they saw it in their news feed they’ll give you the coveted thumbs up.  Gain followers who will consume what you’re putting out there, and the best way to do that is not exclusively through paid advertisements.

Summary:  If you have cash for paid ads, then go for it.  If not don’t sweat it, just keep producing quality content and your followers will come!

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook Seeking Seven Figures for Video Ads

  1. lyndsistaff1 says:

    Great post, I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

