Why linking your Facebook + Twitter accounts is never a good idea

Image

by @DavidAPortney

I know it’s easier, more convenient and less work, but please whatever you do DO NOT LINK YOUR FACEBOOK AND TWITTER ACCOUNTS.

Each one was designed to accomplish their own tasks, and should be treated as such.  Your Facebook posts should be photo based while Twitter posts are quick bites of information.  When you  blend the two philosophies together it gets messy, convoluted and flat-out difficult to read.

Answer me this.  When you see a cut-off tweet with a link at the end, do you click it to read the rest?  The answer is probably no.  That’s what happens when a linked post goes over the 140 character limit of Twitter, the link will take you away from Twitter and to the Facebook post.  I’ve searched far and wide and can’t seem to find the study, but the numbers were something close to a 30% click through rate.  But most importantly, it simply looks lazy.  From a consumer’s point of view, why should they give you their money and follow your account when you can’t even take the time to compose a tweet?

Less often but it’s still out there, you may see hashtags in Facebook posts.  Why why why would anyone ever do that?  On Twitter you click on hashtags to group tweets together to continue a conversation (see previous blog), but hashtags are not clickable links on Facebook, so they literally serve zero purpose.  All they accomplish is creating Facebook clutter of odd symbols.

Short blog, but that’s the point…DON’T LINK YOUR ACCOUNTS!!!

As always, I’d love to get your feedback!  Feel free to leave a comment below or drop me an email at davidportney1@gmail.com

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

