What I learned on Social Media Day…

Image

by @DavidAPortney

As I’m sure many of you know, this past Sunday was National Social Media Day!  My city of Lexington had their first event, hosting a get together on the second floor of a restaurant  with topics of discussion dispersed over tables.  All in all, I’d say about 30-40 people showed up of all ages and industries…but there was one thing in particular I learned more than anything else:

Nothing is more important than face-to-face human connection.

Obviously we spend a lot of time in the cyber world chatting on Gchat and socializing on the social media accounts, but at the end of the day you can’t beat looking into someone’s eyes and having a conversation.  While connections can be made online, the longest lasting connections are made in person.

This may sound counter-intuitive being I work in online communications and social media, but it’s really not an either/or situation.  Do your best to make an IN-PERSON connection to supplement your social media followers.  If you have a brick and mortar store, this is easier because you have a physical location for you to meet customers.  However, if you’re like me and work in an office it can get a little trickier.  We do hold a handful of conferences and events around the country, and I always make sure to engage our online followers at our events.  I suggest holding “tweet-ups” so you can introduce yourself as the manager of the logo they see posting on their smart phones and laptops.

At our Spring Conference in LA in May, I held a mini contest on twitter for any of our followers in attendance to head to the registration table to win a coaching DVD.  This afforded me the opportunity to meet a few of our followers, so from then on out when they saw a tweet from the AVCA, they knew it’s ME behind it.  In fact, a few have even replied to the tweets as “Dave” instead of “AVCA.”

Summary:  Do whatever you can to introduce yourself as the man or woman behind the social media accounts.  How you go about doing it will obviously depend on many different  factors like type of business, location and industry, but when there’s a will there’s a way!

Leave a comment below or shoot me a message on how you go about meeting your followers in person or how you plan on doing it!

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

