Why are Facebook hashtags still so awkward?

Image

 

by @DavidAPortney

For the record, I think Facebook introducing hashtags was a great thing, but now that it’s been a few weeks am I the only one who thinks it’s still a bit awkward?  It just doesn’t feel natural.  Here’s my theory why:  

Since Twitter really blew up around 2009, Facebook had already been in the college mainstream since about 2005 and the entire world in 2007, giving them a few years head start on social media best practices.  After Facebook introduced the news feed and the subsequent status update, Twitter differentiated themselves with allowing just 140 characters and the ability to link messages with hashtags.

So after we logged on to our Facebook then Twitter accounts, our brain used those differentiations to view them both differently.  Now we have to re-train our brains to know we can link our status updates and photos, and that will take awhile…let’s say another month or two.

Am I the only one that feels this way?  Does anyone else feel a bit awkward putting hashtags in their Facebook statuses? 

 

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why are Facebook hashtags still so awkward?

  1. AsianGirl says:

    I think Facebook forgot an important factor when they introduced hashtags–privacy settings. I think by now, almost everyone would set their FB to “friends-only”. That means, not everyone would be able to see the statuses (with hashtags) anyway. This makes it a major difference from Twitter, IMHO.

  2. dportmedia says:

    Yea this could be true. I was speaking more about the differences between the user experience as opposed to who can see your posts, but I see your point. I also think many people (myself included) set their privacy settings to “friends of friends,” but I’d be curious to see if there’s an actual report that shows any of that.

Leave a Reply

