Why check-ins are an invaluable social media tool

Image

by @DavidAPortney

Why don’t more brick and mortar businesses offer check-in discounts?  It’s a simple question with a simple answer: they just haven’t thought about how it can help.  Think about it.  What other marketing/advertising method is completely free and 100% generated by the customer?  This is the cyber “word of mouth” promotion everyone covets.

While many people check in without being given the incentive to do so, if they are incentivized, the amount of check-ins will inevitably sky rocket.  Something as simple as a check-in can get a customer a small percentage off the order while providing big time advertising.

I could be off base with my assessment that many businesses just aren’t aware of the benefits, but I say that because there is no other logical reason for every single one not to have something.  People enjoy checking in to places (especially cool places), and the ones that generally don’t only need the smallest of incentives to do so.

Obviously it can vary for each place of business what types of offers to provide, but it is important it’s known right as a customer walks in AND at the register.  What I’ve seen that’s been the most effective is offering a 5-10% off the bill at check out when you show you’ve checked in that day to the cashier.  It’s as simple as it sounds.  A customer checks in, shows the cashier, the cashier checks to see they’ve checked in that day and boom…discount!  It’s a win-win!

Since Facebook is photo based and that’s where the check-in has the most reach, an even steeper discount can be offered for customers posting a photo of the product/service with the check in.  Imagine you’re a pizzeria, and a customer snaps a photo of the pizza and posts it with the check in.  That’s advertising gold!

The point is EVERY business should be doing something with check-ins in some way, shape or form.  Let me know what offers you’ve seen around town.  I’d love to hear from you!

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

