The Grammy’s Don’t Matter, but I’ll Watch Anyway

Image

by @DavidAPortney

Anyone who knows me knows I’m not a huge fan of awards shows mainly because I haven’t seen/heard/consumed the majority of the nominees in each category.  Plus, who are these arbitrary committees that decide these awards anyway?  I always laugh when an obscure, independent film/album beats out the productions that were actually seen or heard.

But I watch.  I always do.  As someone who’s spent seemingly my entire life in athletics, I enjoy the competition the awards shows bring out in not only the artists, but the fans.  It has many of the same components we’ll find a week from today in New Jersey: drama, suspense, and even controversy (thanks Kanye).  I watch because people care about these winners, and as a fellow member of society I like being kept in the loop of the water cooler conversation.  This doesn’t mean I actually care about the winners… unless Bruce Springsteen is nominated for any category, in that case it’s life or death.

Perhaps there are already plans to do so, but I hope CBS and the Grammys incorporate a strong social media presence in the broadcast itself.  We love celebrities and for better or for worse, care what they think.  All it takes is a simple #Grammys hashtag stream on the bottom of the screen, and we can join in on the same conversations Taylor Swift and Macklemore are having online and national TV.  I may not normally care about pop culture celebrities’ opinions, but if we’re all observing the same show I wouldn’t mind their perspective, so hopefully CBS gives us the opportunity to see them!  That’s what I’ll be looking out for tonight…how about you?

(image courtesy crossmap.com)

 

About dportmedia

Hi, my name's Dave Portney, and welcome to DPort Media! This is my personal blog where I write things I find relevent to my position as a Media Relations Manager for the American Volleyball Coaches Association. I have a proven track record of building brand awareness through online media working for companies large and small. This is my passion, and I truly love waking up in the morning and communicating with the rest of the world. So shoot me a message and let's connect! Follow me on Twitter @DavidAPortney
This entry was posted in Social Media Connection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

